Almond Coconut Chocolate Cookies

June 8, 2013 § 2 Comments

IMG_0399
I’d like to tell you that a huge amount of foresight and care went into this batch of cookies. I’d be lying. I woke up on Thursday morning, and had an urge to bake, and zero desire to go to the grocery store. A quick mental scan through the cupboard generated almond flour, lots of ground coconut, and other pantry staples like chocolate chips (cakesnail tip: chocolate chips are an essential cupboard item. It’s also helpful to have a second bag of them for the moments when you decide to raid the supply). I had very limited baking time (less than one nap’s worth) – ruling out most cakes. So almond coconut chocolate cookies it would be.

IMG_0394
These are the times when the internet is your friend. A recipe for precisely that combination of ingredients was in my grasp before I was out of bed (though let’s be honest, since having a child I am not the fastest riser – in-bed morning “playtime” is the buffer that keeps me just about sane right now). I prefer to avoid posting recipes sourced via another blog, but I am going to break that rule here because the original comes from a book that I have long intended to purchase, and now have on the way, thanks to these cookies. That book is The Sprouted Kitchen, from the author of the blog of the same name, one I have long admired for its fresh and vibrant recipes and STUNNING photography. As with many of Sara’s recipes, what really works with these cookies is that they are healthy without the healthiness being the point. Yes, they are gluten free; yes, they are dairy free (if you choose your chocolate wisely). But that’s because coconut and almond are ingredients that don’t need gluten or dairy to sing in cookie form. Coconut oil augments flavor as well as assisting the single egg with moisture, and chocolate gives that extra hint of sweetness that means large quantities of sugar aren’t necessary here. I’m always in need of a reminder to keep things simple, to be more carefree, that good things can happen without plans. And taking that dose of wisdom in cookie form? For you, reader, anything.

Almond Coconut Chocolate Cookies
From The Sprouted Kitchen, via the Minimalist Baker

Three things to note.

1) The original recipe called for cocoa nibs; The Minimalist Baker used chipped chocolate instead. I am an enormous fan of cocoa nibs but we were out of them, so chocolate chips it was. The next time I might go for a half and half nibs and chips mix, since the warm, melty choc chips were a gorgeous hug cookie form but that nibby crunch would be so perfect here too.
2) I had exactly one cup of almond flour in the house. I did have almonds in the fridge and could have ground some more, but see above context about laziness and naptime cooking. Instead, I added some of my current addiction – a flax, chia, cocoa, coconut blend by Spectrum Organics that I picked up at Whole Foods (I can’t find it on their site right now but it’s called Decadent Blend if you’re on the hunt) to make up the additional quarter cup. Unless you happen to have some of this blend in the cupboard it would be against the lazy spirit of this post to suggest you use it, but I have written some cocoa powder into the recipe for an additional chocolate boost.
3) I have also taken to keeping coconut sugar in the cupboard. It’s low GI and has a nice caramel molasses quality to the flavor that is reminiscent of brown or muscovado sugar. Given the coconut focus in these cookies it was natural that I would use it here, but again you should weigh up where you want to put the effort. That said, get some coconut sugar in your cupboard! It’s lovely.

1 1/4 cups almond meal/flour (ground almonds in UK terms)
1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips, or cocoa nibs, or a blend
1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup coconut sugar, brown sugar, or muscovado sugar
1 egg
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the almond flour, cocoa powder, dark chocolate chips, coconut, baking powder, salt and sugar.
In a separate small bowl, beat the egg until uniform in color and doubled in volume.
Whisk in the coconut oil and vanilla, then make a small well in the dry ingredients, pour in the wet mix, and mix until just combined.
Chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes or even overnight.
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
Shape the dough into 1-inch balls; place them on a baking sheet with 1-1/2 inch space in between each cookie. Press down slightly on each ball to flatten a bit.
Bake until the edges begin to brown, 7-10 minutes.
Remove from oven and let cool before serving. I found the cookies to be best still slightly warm from the oven. They did not survive the day so I can’t say how they keep.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Almond Coconut Chocolate Cookies

  • Stefanie says:

    YAY for this recipe! I am obsessed with the *Decadent Blend* as well, but I can’t say I ever would have the courage to bake with it. Brilliant!

    • cakesnail says:

      Do it! I also love adding it to pancake or waffle mixes… But to be honest just mixing it into Greek yoghurt keeps me happy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almond Coconut Chocolate Cookies at CakeSnail.

meta

